Riders hail rideshare vehicles such as Uber and Lyft with the expectation of a reasonably safe and prudent driver behind the wheel. They never expect their drivers to be drunk, distracted
, reckless or negligent. Unfortunately, rideshare drivers can engage in the same misconduct and make the same mistakes as other drivers. If you were in a rideshare accident in Denton, Texas, whether you believe the rideshare driver to be at fault or not, please contact the Law Firm of Aaron A. Herbert, P.C.
for a free consultation. We can help you bring a claim to damages in Tarrant County.
- We recognize how hard it can be to obtain fair compensation from powerful companies such as Uber and Lyft and are not afraid to take these cases to court.
- We have years of firsthand experience representing clients during auto accident and rideshare-related injury claims throughout Texas.
- We help clients pursue fair compensation on a contingency fee basis. You will not pay your rideshare accident lawyer anything if he or she does not win your case.
An accident involving a rideshare vehicle could cause a range of serious and life-threatening personal injuries to a victim. Whether you were inside the Uber or Lyft during the crash or a third party outside of the vehicle, a negligent rideshare driver could inflict many significant injuries on you or a loved one.
- Bone fractures
- Muscle sprains/strains
- Neck injuries and whiplash
- Spinal cord injuries
- Head and brain injuries
- Internal organ injuries
- Permanent injuries
- Wrongful death
Any physical or emotional injury could give you grounds to file a claim against Uber or Lyft in Denton. No matter what injuries you are currently dealing with, contact a personal injury lawyer
from the Law Firm of Aaron A. Herbert, P.C. for a free discussion about your rights moving forward. One or more parties may owe you compensation.
Whether or not the rideshare company’s $1 million insurance policy will cover your damages depends on your classification at the time of the accident. If you were an Uber or Lyft vehicle passenger on a ride, the full $1 million policy may cover your losses. If you were a victim in another vehicle (or a bicyclist or pedestrian), some or none of the policy may cover you. The rideshare driver must be within one of the covered periods to qualify for insurance coverage.
- Signed into the app and waiting for a ride.
- Accepted a ride and on the way to pick up the rider.
- Traveling to the destination with a rider in the vehicle.
If the Uber or Lyft driver was not in one of these periods at the time of your collision with the rideshare vehicle, the company may refute liability for your damages. You may have to seek compensation from the at-fault driver’s individual insurance policy instead. In most cases, Uber and Lyft’s insurance will only kick in after a victim has exhausted the maximum benefits from the rideshare driver’s personal policy.
It is rare for a crash victim to be able to bring a personal injury claim directly against Uber or Lyft, but it may be possible if the company engaged in negligence that contributed to the crash. Failing to properly check a driver’s background, for example, could lead to the company’s liability for a related incident, such as a drunk driving crash. Rideshare accidents are notoriously difficult cases to negotiate. Hire an attorney for assistance with your claim.
Discuss your unique case and the potential right to file a lawsuit today during a free consultation at the Law Firm of Aaron A. Herbert, P.C. We offer initial case evaluations at no obligation to hire our Denton personal injury attorneys
to represent you. Schedule your meeting today through our online contact form
or by calling (214) 200-4878.